Americana Honors & Awards Nominees Revealed
Rosanne Cash (left), Jason Isbell, Sarah Jarosz, Robert Ellis and Patty Griffin

Rosanne Cash (left), Jason Isbell, Sarah Jarosz, Robert Ellis and Patty Griffin

Rosanne CashRobert Ellis and Jason Isbell lead the field of nominees for the 2014 Americana Honors & Awards, it was announced Monday (May 12). Each is up for three trophies — album of the year, song of the year and artist of the year.
Perennial favorite Cash is nominated for her Southern-inspired album The River and the Thread and the song“A Feather’s Not a Bird,” while conceptual songwriter Ellis was tapped for The Lights From the Chemical Plant and “Only Lies.” Alabama-born rock troubadour Isbell is up for Southeastern and “Cover Me Up.”

Elizabeth Cook revealed the nominations during a special event broadcast live on satellite radio and streamed via at the SiriusXM Music City Theatre in Nashville.

Other nominees include the Avett BrothersRodney Crowellthe Devil Makes ThreePatty GriffinHard Working AmericansSarah JaroszLake Street Dive and the Milk Carton Kids.

Nominated in the emerging act of the year category are Hurray for the Riff RaffParker MillsapSt. Paul & the Broken BonesSturgill Simpson and Valerie June.

Before the nominations were read, June, Millsap and Hurray for the Riff Raff performed acoustic sets backed by awards show host Jim Lauderdale and band leader Buddy Miller, who is also nominated in the instrumentalist of the year category.

Following the announcements, Cook joined Miller and his band to duet on “Burning the Midnight Oil,” famously performed by Dolly Parton and Porter Wagoner.

Now in its 13th year, the Americana Honors & Awards will be held Sept. 17 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Six industry-voted awards and a number of lifetime achievement honors will be presented. The ceremony kicks off the annual Americana Music Festival (Sept. 17-21), which features hundreds of performances in venues across the city.

Here is the complete list of nominees for the 2014 Americana Honors & Awards:

Album of the Year
Build Me Up From Bones, Sarah Jarosz
The Lights From the Chemical Plant, Robert Ellis
The River and the Thread, Rosanne Cash
Southeastern, Jason Isbell

Artist of the Year
Rosanne Cash
Rodney Crowell
Robert Ellis
Jason Isbell

Duo/Group of the Year
The Avett Brothers
The Devil Makes Three
Hard Working Americans
Lake Street Dive
The Milk Carton Kids

Song of the Year
“Cover Me Up,” Jason Isbell
“A Feather’s Not a Bird,” Rosanne Cash
“Ohio,” Patty Griffin
“Only Lies,” Robert Ellis

Emerging Act of the Year
Hurray for the Riff Raff
Parker Millsap
St. Paul & the Broken Bones
Sturgill Simpson
Valerie June

Instrumentalist of the Year
Larry Campbell
Fats Kaplin
Buddy Miller
Bryan Sutton